FAMILY DEDICATION

Summer 2014:

SUSAN B. KOMAN WALK FOR THE CURE

  



Jennifer and Zoe’s dedication:


Along with a new-found less-perfection-is-ideal-attitude, I developed a keen sense of just what my body could and could not do after major surgeries.  I’ve always had too much Irish pride, yeah stubbornness, but it was time for my ego to take a rest.

   
Several months prior to my ‘Gummies’ implants surgery, my stepson’s wife invited me to walk with her and her daughter on the Susan B. Koman Walk For the Cure in August.  I was very hopeful to go along.  That didn’t happen.  The weather turned very hot, and ‘the Walk’ was scheduled only 2 weeks after I had had my surgery.
  
I resigned myself to send her a reneg I couldn’t join her.  I felt like crying.  And I did when I saw her Facebook post that night.  It was such a wonderful gesture and their smiles were for her grandmother and me.  I felt so proud and humbled!  My husband had the rationale it was best I not be subject to the heat, etc. but he knew I was disappointed. 

 

In my heart, a family’s dedication is not ever forgotten.

 

